Learning Python

Our way of living has totally changed over the last years. Now a days almost everything relies somehow on computers, e.g. a clothing shop uses some kind of software to keep track of their clients. Since this is getting more popular there is a stronger need for people who are able to create such software. Because of that I am going to show you how and where you can learn about creating software, i.e. programming. In this case we will use Python as our programming language.
Why Python?
Python is an relatively new programming language compared to C and other languages. Since it is a more modern programming language it is easier to use and does not require that much in-depth understanding. Further it is good to start with because you can see, at least partly, the results of what you programmed immediately.

To get started download the latest version of Python and install it. If you are having problems with setting it up visit the links below or post your problem here and I will get back to you.
Learning Python
To be able to use a programming language you first need to get a basic understanding. For that reason I suggest you read this Python tutorial. If you want to get even more in-depth knowledge feel free to take a look at this article. After having read about Python start to program a little bit. Don’t be frustrated if your program doesn’t work right away, that’s how you actually learn how to program. We learn through mistakes.

Feel free to contact me if you have any questions

Bookmark and Share

4 Responses to “Learning Python”

  1. Ian Says:

    Nice article, thanks.

    Ian

  2. knubbl Says:

    I’m glad you like it 😉

  3. fstephens Says:

    Maybe this will inspire me to get back to learning Python. I haven’t touched it in about a year and a half. Two things I need to decide on – an editor or IDE (I use jEdit now, but I do miss features of Delphi in Windows. I’m on Linux) and a GUI toolkit.
    Any thoughts on GTK+ vs QT vs wxWidgets?

  4. knubbl Says:

    I would use GTK+ since I think it is pretty good. I also used Tkinter which is good too (if you are interested in it I found a great reference for it). I am using Linux too since Windows is just crap 😉 As an editor I prefer a simple editor like Kate since I think with Python you don’t need an IDE


Leave a Reply

